Ugly Muffins

My pregnant sister in law and I were having a laugh about how we both eat second breakfast. She does it because she is very pregnant (38 weeks!) and I do it because I loooove second breakfast. I eat 5-6 small meals a day because I burn far more calories doing so and it keeps me fuller than stuffing myself with three large meals. The more times you eat, the more calories you burn.

Never feel guilty about second breakfast!

It is seriously my fave meal of the day.

First breakfast is always a little rushed, I’m often half asleep as I try to feed Scott before he goes to work and also feed little Johnny, plus the cats and watch my coffee doesn’t go too cold blah blah…

Second breakfast, when the baby is fed, bathed, dressed and running around (usually) happily on his own.
Second breakfast, when I have a hot tea or coffee in my hand.
Second breakfast, when I make a point of stopping whatever I am doing and just enjoy eating for 5-10 minutes.

It’s the simple things in life that give the most joy.

This is what came out of the oven for second breakfast today! My best second breakfast yet!! It started as my no bake goodness brownies, which then turned into a potential pancake mixture before deciding to be baked in a muffin tray for 20 minutes.

Of course, they are free from dairy, soya, wheat, gluten, nuts, eggs, sugar and nightshades. They are suitable for vegans and vegetarians as well as those following AIP/Auto Immune Protocol diets.

Ugly muffins. Devine.

Dearlove Ugly Muffins
Dearlove Ugly Muffins

Ingredients
(I never measure but have tried to be specific here)

One cup dates
One cup desiccated coconuts
Two dessert spoons cocoa
Perhaps four dessert spoons of rice flour, or sub for coconut flour
Perhaps three – four dessert spoons coconut cream, or enough to make the mixture a little less dry

How to

  1. Set oven to 180C / 350F
  2. Whizz the dates, coconut and cocoa together
  3. Whizz in the rice flour and coconut cream
  4. Oil up a muffin tray and put a little water into each cup
  5. Spoon in the mixture. It will be a glorious, sticky mess.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes, or a little longer if you prefer

These are so easy!! A guilt free pleasure the whole family will devour.

I ate three of them.

Enjoy

Aleshia Dearlove xxx

Edited to include this:

Added two dessert spoons of coconut flour and one whole avocado into the mix and made these (below). This gives the muffins a more cake like texture. 20141211_145737(0)

Winning!!

http://www.facebook.com/dearlovehealth

2 thoughts on “Ugly Muffins

Leave a Reply

