Lemon Cheesecake with Blueberries

IMG_20141024_100951

The best thing about this dairy, soya, egg, nut, gluten, wheat, nightshade free lemon cheesecake, made for my diabetic Dad’s birthday, is that it is deceivingly easy to make. Tarty and beautiful, it goes down a treat with blueberries on top.

When learning about Auto Immune Protocol, I learned that there isn’t anywhere near as much information or awareness out there regarding nightshades as say, common lactose intolerance. I have found simple and comprehensive info on The Paleo Mom http://www.thepaleomom.com/2013/08/what-are-nightshades.html .
Oh my word, I was so excited to see a lemon tart cake on her Facebook page! I had to make it. Immediately. I also tweaked it to make it more attractive in appearance and sweeter, without the honey, as to keep in line with gut health.
The original link is here:
http://www.thepaleomom.com/2014/10/guest-post-kate-jay-lemon-tart-autoimmune-protocol-friendly.html

Here is the recipe as I made it with a couple of tweaks to make it my own. I hope you enjoy this cheesecake as much as my family did.

BASE:
Two cups of shredded coconut
A cup of dates (soak regular dates in hot water for 20 minutes or buy medjool dates).
Preheat oven to 180C. Line a round cake tin with parchment paper.
Pop the two ingredients into a food processor. Pulse for a couple of minutes, scrape sides, then a couple of minutes more.
This actually tastes pretty good on it’s own… try it and say you’re doing ‘quality control’.
Knuckle it down into the parchment paper, keeping it even and thick all the way around to avoid cracks in the base.
Pop in fridge for 15 minutes to harden, bake for 15 minutes, fridge it for another 15 minutes.

FILLING

Half a cup of water
Two teaspoons gelatin
Three – Five tablespoons Stevia, depending on how sweet you like it
Zest and juice of four lemons
Two tins full fat coconut cream or milk

Over a low heat, melt the gelatine in the water for five or so minutes.
In a separate bowl, mix all remaining ingredients.
Add gelatine water to the bowl and stir. This is where you can add blueberries INTO the mixture, should you desire. I did not.
Gently fill the cheesecake in with your filling. It will be a liquid at this stage so gently does it!
Place carefully in fridge for about 4 – 5 hours. This is a test of your patience. I did not wait for four hours, I waited for two and then put it in the freezer to ‘hurry it up’. This results in a cheesecake of lesser quality, trust me πŸ™‚

image-61bdc6680ede1f90794bc0a836929d97324440ac24e18c57b02fb6450e9b066d-V

Lemon Cheesecake with Blueberries is allergy friendly and truly amazing. I hope you enjoy this guilt free treat, suitable for many different allergies and preferences.

Leave a Reply

